Villanova Theatre Logo

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

Second Annual Villanova Theatre Playwriting Competition!

Mark Costello ('10), who won last year for his play m4m
The Villanova Theatre Department is pleased to announce the Second Annual Playwriting Competition, offered exclusively to Villanova students, alumni, faculty and staff. 

The goal of this competition is to foster creative endeavors within the Villanova arts community. The funding and support for this project will be provided by the Sue Winge Playwriting Grant. 

Mark J. Costello, the 2013 winner, had this to say about the experience: "Being recognized by my alma mater -especially one in memory of a beloved and highly respected member of our community - was an honor beyond words.  It has encouraged me to write bigger and better, and I'm excited to see what work the award inspires in the creative geniuses of other Villanova theatremakers."

The guidelines for the competition are as follows:

1.  Competition is open to all Villanova students, alumni, faculty and staff.
Scripts are to be original, unpublished, and unproduced.  

2. Musicals, monologues, children’s plays, film scripts, and television scripts are ineligible.

3. Winning playwright will receive a $300 stipend. Travel and housing costs are the responsibility of playwright.

4. Winning play will receive two rehearsals and a staged reading in September 2014 that will be open to the public.

5. The Theatre Department will provide a cast and a graduate student director.

6. In addition to a staged reading, the playwright will receive professional feedback from Villanova University’s Theatre Department.           

7. Playwrights may submit ONE play per year. Plays submitted that do not win may be resubmitted in subsequent years.

8. Scripts must be submitted in English.

9. Only electronic copies may be submitted.

The deadline for submission is March 7th, 2014

All submissions should be directed to the attention of: Elizabeth Marafino, Production Assistant,

The Sue Winge Playwriting Grant and competition was established in memory of beloved Villanova University employee, Sue Winge, who served the university for many years in the Theatre Department and the President’s Office.

No comments: